Break time

Hello noble readers.

As you may have noticed, I haven’t been the best at this “regular updates” thing.  This is due to a number of factors that I wish to address:

1) I am extraordinarily busy at the moment.  I took on an extra adjunct course at Benedictine College in addition to my full time commitments at Satellite University.  It’s a lot of prep time and I am still trying to balance it with my doctorate and Mrs. Hopeful’s time commitments.  There’s a lot going on.

2) I am getting nervous that I’ve begun to repeat myself.  (I do this all the time in real life, so I know I must be doing it here.) Believe it or not, I actually do try to put some effort into my posts here and when faced with the choice of researching for my blog and researching for my degree, I choose the degree.  As a result I rely on things I already know to blog about, and I think I may be reaching the frontier of “things worth writing about that I haven’t already written about.” (I do this all the time in real life, so I know I must be doing it here.)

I didn’t have a good visual aid for this one so here’s a kid scared of a donkey.

3) My shuffling of the schedule was originally meant to give me more time between posts to even write a few in advance and have a buffer zone for deadlines.  That didn’t work out like I planned for the aforementioned reasons.

So, where does that leave us?  Well, my next semester is not as busy as this one has been.  I have decided  to make this a “when I have something to say” blog (rather than having regularly scheduled updates) until further notice.  Regular updates will likely resume after Christmas when I’ve had some time to both get done the things that I get paid for and recharge the batteries for stimulating and enjoyable postings.

I really do appreciate all of the readership and support I’ve seen since starting this blog.  I feel that I owe it to you, the readers, to take some time off for quality control.

Thanks!

A.H.

This entry was posted in Academics, Living arrangements, Topics, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Break time

  1. randycoates says:

    Who among us is accurate at regularly updating his blog? Not to worry. We’ll still visit for your knowledge when you have time to impart it! I believe I would choose the degree, as well.

  2. I understand this pressure entirely (which is why I’m finding this post a mere two months after you wrote it…) and would offer by way of comfort that when I’ve had similar blank patches, actually, doing the academic research has been how I’ve found new things to say on the blog as well. I shall now catch up far enough to see if that’s what happened to you…

Leave a Reply

