Another day, another dollar

Archie Jr. is learning mighty fast.

The other day she made animal noises for each farm animal I pulled out of her puzzle.  She likes to “read” by herself now.  She can count to two (and repeat numbers through five).  She wanders around giving kisses to everyone and everything.

“Hey! I figured out how to put stuff in the VCR!”

And I’m missing it.

Mrs. Hopeful can lactate and I cannot, so there isn’t even an argument about who has to work.  Still, it is no fun.

Mrs. Hopeful has started a part time internship for her grad program, and on Monday nights I pick up Archie Jr. from the babysitter and we go home, play, make dinner, and take a bath.  It’s just a few hours of alone time with her but I’ve had so much fun doing it I am re-appreciating how much I miss on a day to day basis.

Well, perhaps I don’t miss EVERYTHING…

I know there are a couple grad-school parents following me – how do you get by?

This entry was posted in Archie Jr., Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another day, another dollar

  1. Comtesse Marie says:

    “Mrs. Hopeful can lactate and I cannot, so there isn’t even an argument about who has to work.” — I have some issues with this statement, as I’m sure you know. But I do understand and sympathize with you. I try to make my days off all about being with the kids and I hope that’ll make up for the long work days without them. : /

Leave a Reply

